Stubbs

C.B. Stubbefield initially got going in Lubbock TX. I was born in Lubbock. His most famous location is in Austin. I lived in Austin for 8 years…Everyone has heard the ‘Keep Austin Weird’ jive, this just waters the saying down even further…First i ‘painted’ the background with large ‘paper texture’ brushes I have. I used a parchment color. Next I found an image of the Stubb’s sign from the Austin location and gave it a sepia photo filter, then lowered the opacity to give it a ‘water-mark’ look.It also has a slight out-glow in burnt orange. For the color contrast, I used an obvious choice for an Austin-based institution: Burnt Orange. These were done with high-resolution ‘grunge’ texture brushes. The font is called ‘Headline One’….I seem to use this often. The brown was taken directly off the bottle to match. The bottle was given a drop shadow……in the words of Hank Hill…”yepp”

Leave a Reply

